mix it up {prickly pear daiquiri}

On a recent trip to the Great Wegmans, I came across a large display of prickly pears.

NOW, I do always try to not impulse buy at Wegmans…it could be potentially unhealthy and costs money.  HOWEVER, I was overcome with a craving for a prickly pear cocktail the moment I spotted them.  Thus, the prickly pear daiquiri I am sharing today.

drink

First things first, puree your prickly pear.  Having never prepared prickly pear before, I looked to the web for a quick tutorial and found one at Simply Recipes.  I did not wear gloves because the barbs were gone.  I later had that annoying little prickly feeling on my fingers, because although the barbs were off there were these teeny-tiny-hair-thin prickly things that stuck in my fingers.  Not painful.  Horribly annoying.  Wear gloves.

ingredients

Combine-

4 ounces good quality rum (we love our Appletons…did you see how much was left?  Not a whole lot…)

1 ounce prickly pear puree

1 ounce lime juice

1 teaspoon sugar (we have also used agave sweetener here)

in a shaker with lots of ice.

Shake that baby up good.

Pour everything into your fancy glass.

Garnish with lime wedge and enjoy.

And beware.  These tasty cocktails pack a punch!

Cheers!

Anne

Linking It Up:

Flamingo Toes

I {heart} Nap Time

Polkadot Pretties

Or So She Says

Serenity You

Tatertots and Jello

Lines Across

Creatively Living

That’s What Che Said

Uncommon Designs

C.R.A.F.T.

Sumo’s Sweet Stuff

2 thoughts on “mix it up {prickly pear daiquiri}

Leave a Reply

