life, in general {sweet endings}

Happy Post-Mother’s Day… Hopefully all of the Mom’s and Mommy-figures had a day full of relaxation, peace, good food, family, flowers, chocolates, and all that a woman could hope for on her day.

full-boquet

In the Circus Berry household, we had a few of those things…a breakfast out, visits with family, tasty cold beer.  Mostly though, yesterday was a day full of challenges as a mother as my four-year-old decided that Mother’s Day (Mother’s Day Weekend actually) was a good time to flex her “I’m-in-charge/I’m-not-listenin-to-you/I-know-everything/I-want-it-now/I-fight-like-a-teenager” muscles.  And the two-year-old…well he is fully in the terrible-twos.

All.  Day.  Long.

It was stressful on me and my husband.  It was frustrating.  It was depressing.  It was infuriating.  I mean, it’s Mother’s Day. I was not feeling the “I’m-so-blessed” and “My-kids-are-my-life” euphoria I have felt on past Mother’s Days.  I was even feeling tremendously guilty.

At the end of it all, I got a special and beautiful flower delivery that brightened my day and made it all melt away.  And then I got hand-picked artificial flowers from my daughter’s kitchen set after dinner.  I got hugs and kisses and a sweet goodnight.  I got rocking my son while singing “Twinkle, Twinkle”.  And at the end of it all, I got a quite house, a beer, and some Sunday Night television with my husband.

mother's-day-bouquetmother's-day-roses

The last 15 minutes of the day with the kids was better than the whole weekend combined.  It was the sweet ending that I needed.  And it reminded me that the wonderful behavior of my kids all weekend long was typical of kids their age…they just picked a heck-of-a-day to show it.

I reminded my how great being a mom can be.

Have a Happy Monday.

Anne

Linking It Up:

Mommy Mondays

7 thoughts on “life, in general {sweet endings}

  1. Awwww 😦 We had similar kinds of mothers day it seems like, my baby sick with a fever all weekend and we had to cancel most of our plans. BUT- those flowers are gorgeous!!! Happy Mothers day!!!

  2. that is a sweet ending! we are just entering the terrible twos- or at least the temper tantrums which are pretty terrible. its not very fun. thanks for linking up to mommy mondays!

    • Hang in there! Even with the terrible twos we see so much growing, right?…the conversation, the humor, the personality! Good thing we have like minded mommies to stick together and remind us we are doing a good job! Thanks for visiting…

  3. I think kids know when we want them to behave perfect and they somehow defy us. Our experience with our kids were the terrible threes. I can tell you it does get better with time. Glad to hear you had a great Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

