mix it up {rum with ginger & citrus}

OR, you could call it the Ginger Rogers Fred & Ginger (via my Momma) OR, you could call it the PD {via my friend Kristen}.  It is almost like a Dark n’ Stormy…

rum-with-ginger-&-citrus1

But for now, I am going to call it what it is.

Rum

Ginger

Citrus
ingredients

Get your very best rum.  I chose Kraken because I kept hearing rave reviews of it and never had it.  I figured now was as good a time as any.  And let me tell you, if you are a rum fan and have not had Kraken, you are missing out!  It is wonderfully spicy and dark and perfect with this combo.
krakenbw

I made up a batch of citrus juice…lemons, limes, and orange.  But fresh squeezed lime juice is just as good.  I know because I tried it…

And finally, ginger syrup.  I made it once and it only lasted  a few days.  So the second time around I made a LOT more.  Ginger syrup is super easy…make a simple syrup with one part sugar and one part water.  Heat in a large saucepan until the sugar is dissolved.  Turn off the heat and add your peeled, sliced ginger, allowing it to steep for several hours.  Strain and store in a sealed container.  For this batch, I did 2 cups sugar+2 cups water+ 8 or so ounces of peeled, fresh ginger.

Combine 2 ounces rum, roughly 1 ounce juice, and almost 1 once syrup in a shaker filled with ice  (like my exact measurements?).  Shake, pour, garnish, sip.
rum-with-ginger-&-citrus

I like to rim the glass with the lime with every sip…

Signature

Linking it Up:

Bloom

Leave a Reply

