strawberry ice cream sandwiches {guest post with Mom}

For my last guest post this week, I introduce you to…wait for it…MY MOM! Now, she doesn’t have a blog and doesn’t necessarily get into the social media but I wanted her to share something for Circus Berry because, well…she is where I get my craziness, talents, obsessions, crafting, and food love from. She is the original domestic goddess in my life. SO excited she agreed to share!

So here she is, my Mom, Donna:

Sometimes, I feel the need to explain to folks, why I am the way I am. (No in-depth psychotherapy stuff here, I promise. Just a little story I like to tell.) One time, my mother wanted to make a jelly roll. She wasn’t content to make a homemade sponge cake base, slather on some Welch’s Grape and call it a day. Not my mother. She went to a local fruit and vegetable stand and got herself some Concord grapes, whipped up a quick homemade batch of Concord Grape Jelly (after straining the fruit through a hand-stitched cloth bag), and then baked and assembled the jelly roll. It was like nothing I’d ever had, before or since and I will never forget it. This story kind of explains it all… homemade all the way, baby!

For quite some time now, my lovely daughter has been after me to start a blog. “You know Mom, where you can post all your recipes, and your craft ideas and all that stuff.” I have not been able to commit to my own blog just yet, but when Anne asked me to create a guest post for CircusBerry, I happily said yes.

Recently I mentioned to Anne that I was planning on creating strawberry ice cream sandwiches with shortbread cookies. “ooooohh” she said, “that would be a great guest blog.” So CircusBerry fans, here is my contribution. I hope you enjoy it.

Strawberry-n-Shortbread Ice Cream Sandwiches

sandwiches-1

Make Shortbread Cookies, recipe below, and store in air-tight container until ready to assemble. Use a biscuit cutter or a glass to get the desired size cookie. I used an Ice-Cream Sandwich maker gadget thingy I bought from Pampered Chef years ago.

cutterscookie

Make Strawberry Ice cream according to recipe below. Place the ice cream in the freezer until it is firm. You’ll want to be able to spread it on the cookies without it oozing all over.

strawberriesicecream

Spread the ice cream on one cookie, about an inch thick. Cover with the second cookie, and even the edges with a spreader. Place the assembled cookies on a parchment covered cookie sheet, cover with plastic wrap and freeze until firm. The finished ice cream sandwiches can be wrapped individually.

Scotch Shortbread
(adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook – Copyright 1969)
Yield depends upon size of cookies…. 2 dozen 1 ½” cookies

¾ cup butter or margarine, softened (use butter… butter is better)
¼ cup sugar
2 cups all purpose flour

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and sugar. Work in flour. If dough is crumbly, mix in 1 to 2 tablespoons soft butter.

Roll dough ½ to 1/3 thick on lightly floured board. Cut into small shapes (in this case, I cut the dough into 2 ½ circles.) Place ½ “ apart on ungreased baking sheet. Bake about 20 minutes or until set. Immediately remove from baking sheet.

Strawberry Ice Cream
Williams Sonoma “Ice Cream”
Makes 1 1/2 quarts

2 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup (185g) sugar
pinch salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups (250g) fresh strawberries, stemmed and coarsely chopped, plus more for garnish

In a large bowl, combine the cream and milk. Add the sugar and a pinch of salt and whisk the mixture until the sugar dissolves. Stir in the vanilla. Let the mixture sit for 20 minutes so that the flavors begin to blend together. Cover and refrigerate the mixture until chilled, from 3-8 hours.

In a medium bowl, using a fork, mash half of the chopped strawberries until they break down into small chunks, then add the remaining coarsely chopped strawberries to the bowl. Cover and refrigerate these strawberries for an hour.

After an hour, pour the milk/cream mixture into your ice cream maker and freeze according to the manufacturer’s instructions. When nearly frozen and the mixture looks like thick whipped cream, add the strawberries. Churn just until blended. Transfer the ice cream to a freezer-safe container. Freeze until firm, about three hours, or up to 3 days before serving.

sandwich

Thank you to my Momma for guest posting! And let me say, I got to enjoy these little sandwiches and they were great!

Maybe we will see more from Donna soon!?!?!

Signature

Leave a Reply

