fabric pom-pom garland {diy}

It has been a busy couple of weeks and the mission continues.  I am slowly, but surely, working my way around the house trying to “finish” each room.  One of last week’s projects that is happily adorning our sunroom is this pom-pom garland.

fabric-pom-pom

I was looking for a way to make the play area of our sun-room fun and playful yet adult, pretty, and easy to change so I went with this fabric pompom garland.  It adds a little sass to the room, if I do say so myself.  And when I am done with it, I can reuse it for party decor.  Sweet.

Supplies you will need:  fabric (any kind at all…that’s part of the fun); thread and needle; twine

supplies

A note about that grey shiny fabric…I bought the pants on sale at Target because they looked like fun.  I rocked them at a Bon Jovi concert, then again in Vegas, and then decided I was done with them.  But shiny grey fabric…I couldn’t just ditch it.  I had to reuse it.  Along with a fabric drop cloth I am milking for every penny.

Cut circles out of fabric…they don’t need to be exact, only roughly the same size.  I cut 100 circles of each.

circles

Assemble pom-poms:  Fold one circle into quarters and stitch the bottom.  Repeat with nine more circles, stitching each one onto the thread, until you have 10 in a row.  Bring the thread through the first circle you attached and tie your knot.

steptwostepthreestepfour

Then fluff it out a bit.

pompom

Continue until you have all of your pom-poms done.  I did 10 of one and 9 of another.  Don’t be intimidated.  Turn on some good music and you will whizz right through them.

finished-pompoms

Run a length of bakers twine, floss, or yarn through the center of each pom-pom.  I took a picture of gold twine but changed my mind and went with black.  Whatever floats your boat.

pompoms

Space out the pom-poms about 10 inches apart, securing each with a dab of hot glue in the center.

spaced-outfinished-garland

 Hang however you see fit.

garland

Here is a snapshot of the kids enjoying some of the progress.  I took out more of the toys and moved things around from the playroom I wrote about here.  Same rules, just less stuff.  (More about that transformation soon.)

playroom2

playroom

Signature

Linking it Up:

Flamingo Toes

Monday Funday

Under the Table and Dreaming

4 thoughts on “fabric pom-pom garland {diy}

  1. Pingback: making rooms {play & sunroom} | Circus Berry

  2. Pingback: 40 Ways How to Make Pom Poms into Something Fantastic | Its Jello!

Leave a Reply

