black bean salad

Whenever I have tacos, quesadillas, or anything of the like for dinner, I always feel like I need some sort of side dish. I don’t know why I have this neuroses, but I do, so I am often searching for something to make to go with….Sometimes it is crudités, other times it is a little more involved, like this Black Bean Salad.

black-bean-salad

It is a variation of a black bean salad served at the restaurant I worked at during grad school in Boston. The chef was nice enough to share some recipes with me when I worked there (after I threatened to serenade him with “You Are My Sunshine”, yet again), this one included. I come back to this dish often because it is versatile and yummy.

yummy-black-bean-salad

Black Bean Salad

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1/4 red pepper, chopped
1/4 green pepper, chopped
1/4 red onion, chopped
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
2-3 Tablespoons lime juice
1-2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

Combine the ingredients, using 2 Tablespoons of lime juice and 1 Tablespoon of olive oil to start. Once combined, add more lime juice, oil, salt, and pepper to taste. Serve alone, atop a salad, over avocado, or in a quesadilla. YUM!

fresh-black-bean-salad

Enjoy!

Signature

Linking it Up:

Block Party

Skip to My Lou

Monday Funday

A to Zebra Celebrations

Anyonita Nibbles

The Winthrop Chronicles

Brag About It

Moonilight and Mason Jars

Gingersnap Crafts

The 36th Avenue

Pinworthy Projects

3 thoughts on “black bean salad

  1. One of my favorite side dishes is anything with beans in it and your salad looks terrific. (Sharon) Thanks for sharing it with us at BeBetsy!

    You’ve been FEATURED at the BeBetsy BRAG ABOUT IT.

    Feel free to grab yourself a featured button or just link to the post. Our next party starts at midnight tonight… SO SEE YOU THERE!

    Sharon and Denise ♥

  2. Pingback: Moonlight & Mason Jar Link-Up Party #23 | Mama Dish

Leave a Reply

