life in general {fall days in WNY}

We are approaching fall, and with the exception of what comes after fall, this is my favorite time of the year.  We got out this Saturday to enjoy the sun, the fresh fall air, and some local goodies.

The adventure started  with apple picking at Becker Farms.  Now, there is no denying that I chose to go there for reasons other than apple picking too.  They have a cider barn, bakery, barbecue, petting zoo…and a brewery and winery.  Oh, yeah.  There’s that.

 It was mobbed but it was perfect.  We rode in a wagon to get out to the orchard, which was thrilling for the little ones.  Both kids loved picking apples from the trees and were more excited to eat their prizes.  Ronan actually ate the entire apple.  Seeds, core…everything.  I just couldn’t get it away from him.

moira's-appleronan's-appleronan-&-daddyeating-apples

Once we got back to the barns, we made a stop to enjoy the brew.  It was crazy and busy, but fabulous.  Steve and I got to sit at a table and enjoy a beer with the kids right there with us, playing their games.  It was a moment of calm between all of the crazy.  I love moments like that.

We had a nice little picnic in the grass.  By that time the kids were so hungry and ate so fast, I don’t think they even tasted the food.

picnic

When all was done at the farm, we stopped at Lake Effect for some fancy-pants ice cream sundaes.

ice-cream

Have I ever mentioned my obsession with ice cream?  This place has the most amazing concoctions and flavor combinations.  I got “the Morning Commute”, which tasted like coffee and donuts.  Frozen.  Ah-mazing.

We took a quick walk to see the canal.  The kids ran circles around the inside of the gazebo.  And by the time we got back home it was time for bed.  Such a fun time.  Ronan managed to stay dry the entire day.  Moira was the best little helper.  Just great.

holding-handsscarecrow

Lovely fall day in Western New York.

Signature

Linking it Up:

Mommy Mondays

Click Chicks

5 thoughts on “life in general {fall days in WNY}

  1. I love apple picking! That orchard you went to looks & sounds fabulous! And the ice cream…I wish I could eat some right through the screen:)

    Coming by from the Mommy Mondays Hop.

  2. We love going to those fall festival type of places, too! Our favorite one has apple cider donuts which are my absolute favorite and possibly the best things ever!! I love your apple picking pictures- so cute!!

  3. Oh man, I LOVE fall and apple picking certainly is one of the reasons! We’re going this weekend and I can’t wait. Unfortunately our orchard doesn’t have a brewery. Love the calm moment in the midst of chaos.

Leave a Reply

