mini ginger-peach hand pies

Last week I shared some fun ideas for throwing a fall pie tasting party on Organize and Decorate Everything.  I myself was inspired to make some pies.  However, anyone who knows me knows that I am not so great with pie.  I mean, I love to eat it, but making pie?  The crust gives me fits!!!

I started small.  Like, really small.  With these little ginger peach hand pies.

ginger-peach-hand-pies

I went with the unthinkable, but the only logical solution for my pie-crust issues, and used a store-bought pie crust (*gasp*)…

pie-crusts

…and made a gingery-peach filling.  After making itty-bitty pies, I had some left over peach filling, so we put it on pancakes the next day.  THAT was yummy too.

ginger-peach-pie-filling

hand-pies

They came out considerably smaller than I thought they should be for the first batch, so for the second I doubled-up.  Still small, but I guess that is why they are called “hand-pies”.

Ginger-Peach Hand Pies

Pie crust of your choosing (I used 2)
5 large peaches, peeled and chopped
1 Tablespoon lemon juice
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon cornstarch
1/4 cup crystalized ginger, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350°.  Combine peaches and lemon juice in a large bowl.  In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients, mixing with a whisk or fork until well blended in fluffy.  Gently combine the peaches and sugar mixture.  On a floured surface, roll out pie crust to about 1/8″.  Cut dough using a floured, 2-3 inch round cutter.  Gently roll out each circle slightly thinner.  Put 1 tablespoon of peach mixture into the center of your cut dough and place another piece of dough on top.  Gently press the edges together and seal with a fork.  Place on a parchment lined baking sheet and bake for 25-30  minutes, until the crust is browned.  Allow to cool then enjoy.

ginger-peach-pies

These ended up being the perfect size for little hands.  The ginger is subtle, and overall I was pleased with how they turned out.  Mr. CB loved them too.  I still think I need to work on my pie crust skills though.  It can be my mission…any pie crust tips out there?

Signature

Linking it Up:

Brag About It

A to Zebra Celebrations

The Winthrop Chronicles

Anyonita Nibbles

The 36th Avenue

Gingersnap Crafts

2 thoughts on “mini ginger-peach hand pies

Leave a Reply

