life in general {happy highlights}

Happy Monday.  We more than half-way through October and here in WNY the weather is just now turning.  We have the morning chill, the afternoon crispness, and chilly nights.  Gone are my days of keeping the windows open all day long.  We have turned on the fireplace.  I sit in my kitchen and see all the leaves rapidly falling and covering our lawn.  We eat squash for dinner.  All happy fall things.  Here is a glimpse at a full, fall week and a few things that made me smile:

I have broken out my L.L. Bean Wicked Good Slippers. (They are the BOMB!)

wicked-good-slippers

The trees are looking especially spooky for Halloween.

spooky-tree

Sometimes it is good to stop everything, grab a latte (of the pumpkin spice variety), and leisurely read whatever you want.  There are so many great bloggers out there with amazing images, inspiring projects, and thoughtful words.  I love when I get to sit and look.

spot-coffee

I baked cupcakes, including the seriously-best-ever white cake cupcakes I have ever experienced, using Sweetapolita’s Fluffy Vanilla Cake recipe.  OH.  EMM.  GEE.  I don’t even know what else to say.

cupcake-prep

Speaking of baking cupcakes, I also got to use more of my prized, secret stash of Soma baking chocolate.  I am already weaseling myself another trip to Toronto to buy more when I run out.

soma-chocolate

Finally, I have beautiful fall flowers brightening my kitchen and my work area (thank you Julie!).  Flowers always make me happy.

fall-flowers

Do you have any little snippets or highlights from your week that make you warm and fuzzy?  What are they?

Signature

Leave a Reply

