mom’s macaroni & cheese

Several years ago, my mother gave me a cookbook that contained some of my favorite family recipes. They were simple recipes, staple recipes, that I could make for my family again and again–her chicken soup, tomato sauce, my grandmother’s golden raisin cookies.

This macaroni and cheese was one of them.

moms-mac-and-cheese

I have to confess and I don’t know why, but for a while I didn’t use this recipe when I was making mac and cheese.  Now that I have, I am getting rave reviews (in the form of, “This is the best macaroni and cheese you have ever made!”).

baked-mac-and-cheese

With only four ingredients, it comes together pretty quick.  I changed up the recipe only minimally by adding a little more cheese to both the sauce and the layers.

shredded-cheesemacaroni

I also threw some broccoli into the mix.  You could really add any veggie (or not) as you wish.

broccoli-layercheese-layer

This is a great for a crowd…or to make in advance and freeze (which is what I did)…or to bring to a friend who might need a quick hot meal.

Mom’s Macaroni and Cheese

1 large can evaporated milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
3 mounding cups grated sharp cheddar cheese (I like extra sharp)
1-1 pound box elbow macaroni

Cook macaroni according to package directions.  While the pasta cooks, combine evaporated milk and salt in a medium saucepan.  Heat that on low for 2 to 3 minutes, being careful not to boil.  Add 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese and cook on low, stirring continuously, until melted.  Once the macaroni is done, drain, return to its pot, and add the cheese sauce.  Pour half into a casserole dish that has been sprayed with non-stick spray.  Sprinkle 1 cup shredded cheese over macaroni.  Pour the remaining macaroni into the pan and top with the remaining cheese.  Cover and  bake at 350º for about 1 hour.  Uncover for the last 15 minutes to brown the cheese.

homemade-mac-and-cheese

Can’t get any easier, right?  Enjoy!Signature

Linking it Up:

Home Coming
Skip to My Lou
Monday Funday
Block Party
Under the Table and Dreaming
Flamingo Toes
Tasty Tuesdays
Brag About It

2 thoughts on “mom’s macaroni & cheese

Leave a Reply

