hot chocolate with a spicy cocoa rim

Have you had your first hot chocolate of the season yet?  I just had mine!  My husband and I went to Vegas back in March and while we were there we visited Vosges Haut Chocolat (the best, by far, ever in my book).  We bought some Aztec Elixir (their spicy hot chocolate) which I have been hoarding until just the right weather/temperature to drink.  I feel like it is strictly a cold weather drink.

hot-chocolate-with-a-spicy-cocoa-rim

I love the idea of adding a little something something to dress up the drinks (obviously), so inspired by the Aztec yummy-goodness, I made a little spicy cocoa rim to go with my hot chocolate.

We were turned on to Aztec hot chocolate a couple of years back while visiting Toronto.  Every since I have been hooked.  If you have never had it, it is sweet, super rich, chocolatey, and spicy.  Try to get your hands on some!  And if you don’t have any Aztec hot chocolate, no worries!  You can use this rim with any hot chocolate drink.  It gives it a little kick.  In a very good way.

spicy-cocoa-rim-ingredients

I used 2 teaspoons of my stash of vanilla sugar, 1/2 teaspoon cocoa, and 1/4 teaspoon quality cinnamon.  To top it off I added a couple of small sprinkles of chili powder and mixed.  Only add a little bit of chili at a time and taste your mix in between additions.  It will slightly resemble cinnamon candy with some chocolate notes.  I wanted to use chipotle or ancho chili powder, but was all out.  The results are still pleasant though.

spicy-cocoa-rim

When rimming your glass, just wet the edges and then dip in your mix–just like you do for a cocktail.  Once your hot chocolate is made, just pour it in!

aztec-elixirhot-chocolate-with-spicy-cocoa-rim

Oh.  My.  Amazing.

Signature

Linking it Up:

Gingerly Made
Bloom Designs
Inspiration Gallery
What to Do Weekends
Pinworthy Projects Link Party
Craft Frenzy Friday
The Party Bunch Link Party
Moonlight and Mason Jars
Link Party Palooza

4 thoughts on “hot chocolate with a spicy cocoa rim

Leave a comment