candy leaf cupcake topper {diy}

Last week I had some guests over for a little pampering party and thought I’d share some cupcakes to munch on among all of the other goodies.  And, I had some left over orange candy melts from my Oreo Pumpkin Pops that I wanted to use up.  The resulting idea?  Some colorful fall leaves that are a fun and festive little addition to a cupcake…you just can’t go wrong when you can eat your topper!

candy-leaf-topper

I like the texture and rustic-sorta feel to these!  Furthermore, you can’t argue with how fast and easy these come together.

candy-cupcake-topper

You’ll will need some wax paper, a flat surface, the leaf template from Jane’s Doodles, your candy melts, and a pastry or zip-lock bag.

candy-topper-supplies

Put your image on the flat surface (I used a baking sheet) and the wax paper on top of that.  Melt your candies according to the package directions (you won’t need to melt the whole bag).  Spoon the melted candies into a zip-lock bag.  Snip a tiny hole into the corner.

melted-candies

With a slow hand, trace the outside of the image with orange first.  Allow to cool briefly.  Line some of the inside with red.  Cool again.  Then gently, and lightly, fill in the rest of the spaces.  Allow to cool.

step-onestep-twostep-threefinished-candy-toppers

Gently put them on top of your cupcakes.

candy-leaf-topperscandy-leaf-cupcake-toppers

Signature

Linking it Up:

Brag About it Tuesday
A to Zebra Celebrations
The Winthrop Chronicles
DIY Showoff
Bloom Designs
The Inspiration Gallery
Gingerly Made
Moonlight & Mason Jars
The Weekly Creative
Serenity Now
The Party Bunch
Craft Frenzy Friday
Crafts a la Mode
Pinworthy Projects Link Party

15 thoughts on “candy leaf cupcake topper {diy}

  1. Okay, so I noticed the little leaf in the background of one of your photos where you just did the orange silhouette without anything filling it in, and that idea was lovely too. I love how versatile this could be. I never thought about using using wax paper over an image to help me get the exact shape I want. These really turned out lovely!

  2. What a great touch to add some seasonal flair! I’ve never worked with candy melts before because I just didn’t know what to do with them. Thanks for sharing on Gingerly Made’s Show & Tell!

Leave a comment